Legislative Research


The purpose of the Legislative Research Special Interest Section is to provide a forum of information exchange for its members on Congressional affairs and the use of legislative resources in a legal setting.  It tries to promote an occupational identity for legislative librarians and by its activities and publications enhance the career performance of all Society members who utilize legislative documents or monitor Congressional affairs.


Membership in the Legislative Research Special Interest Section is open to all members of the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C. who are eligible to participate in special interest sections and who have paid dues to the section.  Dues are currently $10.00, and are paid along with membership dues to the Society.


Click here to view the bylaws of this section.



Board LiaisonTom Kolodziej


Future Activities & Programs

See Calendar for details

Links of Interest

Selected Past Activities & Programs

June 22, 2017 - Business Meeting Lunch and General Discussion
Jan. 11, 2017 - Welcome Back Congress Lunch with Presentations by National Journal
Oct. 25, 2016 - Legislative Research Roundtable Discussion
Feb 8, 2016 - Politico Pro Legislative Compass Demo and Lunch
Nov 17, 2015 - Preview of FDsys NextGen presented by Christine McMahon & Amanda Colvin, GPO
May 05, 2015 - ProQuest Congressional and Legislative Insight Update by Catherine Johnson
Feb. 24, 2015 - Legislative History Compilations Today - Luncheon Discussion - Survey Handout
Oct. 08, 2014 - Appropriations / Continuing Resolutions Research  by Justin Murray & Jessica Tollestrup
Dec. 11, 2012 - National Law Journal: Legislative Products Presentation
Sep. 18, 2012 - Program with retired Senate Parliamentarian Alan Frumin
May 25, 2012 - Best Practices in Legal Research: Roundtable Discussion
Mar. 09, 2012 - U.S. Treaties Ratification Process
Oct. 27, 2011 - Lexis Legislative Research Presentation
May 26, 2011 - The Authority of Statutes Placed in Section Notes of the United States Code
May 25, 2010 - Federal Administrative Law: A Brief Overview
Jan. 29, 2009 - Welcome Back Congress Party
Mar. 12, 2008 - GAO Legislative Histories on Westlaw
Oct. 02, 2008 - Training Attorneys & Staff in Legislative Reserch
May 29, 2008 - Finding Regulatory Intent: An Introduction
Oct. 09, 2007 - Introduction to Searching GPO's new FDsys
May 30, 2007 - Tour of the Law Library of Congress
Jan. 27, 2007 - Welcome Back Congress Party
Nov. 06, 2006 - Compiling a Legislative History of an Older Public Law
Nov. 09, 2004 - An Historical Overview of the U.S. Statutes & the U.S. Code
May 22, 2003 - Legislative History Seminar
Jan. 23, 2003 - Welcome Back Congress Party
Mar. 21, 2002 - Compiling a Legislative History using Adobe Acrobat and PDF Files
Mar. 20, 2001 - Maryland Legislative History
Jan. 31, 2001 - Welcome Back Congress Party
Dec. 14, 2000 - GalleryWatch.com Research Presentation
Apr. 11, 2000 - Westlaw Legislative Research Presentation
Feb. 23, 2000 - Lexis Legislative Research Presentation
Nov. 17, 1998 - "There Must Be A Better Way -- Updating Your Legislative Procedures"
Sep. 16, 1998 - Tour of the Government Printing Office
Feb. 29, 1996 -
The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations

Suggested Future Programs

(If you have ideas for future programs, please contact the Legislative SIS President)

House Parliamentary Procedures

Role of the House and Senate Legislative Counsels
Role of the Law Revision Counsel
Scheduling on the House and Senate Floors
Navigating HeinOnline's Congressional Documents
Accessing Congressional Research Service Reports
AALL Legislative Advocacy
Lobbying Disclosure Reports
State Legislative Codes and Positive Law
Responsibilities of the Clerk of the House
Responsibilities of the Secretary of the Senate
Responsibilities of the House and Senate Sargent at Arms
Role of Congressional Caucuses
Party Officers in the House and Senate
Role of House and Senate Chaplains
House and Senate Press Galleries

Past Presidents

Jeff Bird (2017-2018)
Susan Pries (2016-2017)
Kelly McGlynn (2015-2016)
Alicia Julian (2014-2015)
Tomasz Kolodziej (2013-2014)
Sue Ann Orsini (2012-2013)
Sam Mendell (2011-2012)
Richard Palmer (2010-2011)
Mary Elizabeth Woodruff (2009-2010)
Carrie Ansell (2007-2009)
Margot Gee (2006-2007)
Debbie Atkins (2005-2006)
Richard Ramponi (2004-2005)
Christine Ciambella (2003-2004)
Lorrelle Anderson (2003-2004)
Julia Taylor (2001-2003)
David Mao (2000-2001)
Catherine Rogalin (1998-2000)
J.O. Wallace (1997-1998)
Rosalind Kelman (1996-1997)
Rick McKinney (1995-1996)
Annettee Erbrecht (1994-1995)
Mike Welsh (1993-1994)
Mary Katterfield (1992-1993)
David Lang (1991-1992)
Mary Alice Durphy (1990-1991)

Email the Legislative SIS.